//Bologna FC wins 10th International Helvetia U16 Cup FC St. Gallen best Swiss team

Bologna FC wins 10th International Helvetia U16 Cup
The Sunday was dominated by the final matches. Both semi-finals of the Helvetia U16 Cup were decided after a penalty shoot-out after the regular playing time. Bologna FC and Benfica Lisbon stayed cooler and reached the final.
The final was very attractive and similarly balanced to the semi-finals. Since no goals were scored in the ten minute overtime, the penalty shootout had to decide again. There, the goalkeeper from Bologna saved even more than in the semi-finals and secured the tournament victory for the Italians.
For the first time in the history of the Helvetia U16 Cup, an Italian team won the tournament. FC St. Gallen won the match for 3rd place against Stade Rennais from France 2:0 and was, therefore, the best Swiss team.
FC Lugano could not improve in the last game and lost against FC Aarau narrowly with 1:2.

Ranking
1. Bologna FC
2. S.L. Benfica
3. FC St. Gallen
4. Stade Rennais
5. VfB Stuttgart
6. Team Vorarlberg
7. SV Werder Bremen
8. FC Zurich
9. Liverpool FC
10. Hellas Verona
11. FC Aarau
12. FC Lugano

top scorer
Federico Crescenti, FC St. Gallen, 5 goals
Best Keeper
Nicolo Albieri, Bologna FC
Best Player
Hugo Felix, S.L. Benfica

//Bologna FC gewinnt 10. Int. Helvetia U16 Cup FC St. Gallen bestes Schweizer Team

Bologna FC gewinnt 10. International Helvetia U16 Cup

Der Sonntag stand ganz im Zeichen der Finalspiele. Beide Halbfinals des Helvetia U16 Cups wurden nach einem 1:1 nach der regulären Spielzeit im Elfmeterschiessen entschieden. Dabei haben der Bologna FC und Benfica Lissabon den kühleren Kopf bewahrt und erreichten den Einzug ins Finale.

Das Finale war sehr attraktiv und ähnlich ausgeglichen, wie die Halbfinals. Da auch in der zehn minütigen Verlängerung keine Tore fielen musste wiederum das Elfmeterschiessen entscheiden. Dort parierte der Torhüter von Bologna noch stärker als im Halbfinale und sicherte den Italienern den Turniersieg.

Das erste Mal in der Geschichte des Helvetia U16 Cup hat eine italienische Mannschaft den Turniersieg errungen. Das Spiel um Platz 3 gewann der FC St. Gallen gegen Stade Rennais aus Frankreich mit 2:0 und war somit beste Schweizer Mannschaft.

Der FC Lugano vermochte sich auch im letzten Spiel nicht mehr zu steigern und verlor gegen den FC Aarau knapp mit 1:2.

Plazierungen

  1. Bologna FC
  2. S.L. Benfica
  3. FC St. Gallen
  4. Stade Rennais
  5. VfB Stuttgart
  6. Team Vorarlberg
  7. SV Werder Bremen
  8. FC Zürich
  9. Liverpool FC
  10. Hellas Verona
  11. FC Aarau
  12. FC Lugano

Top Scorer
Federico Crescenti, FC St. Gallen, 5 Tore

Best Keeper
Nicolo Albieri, Bologna FC

Best Player
Hugo Felix, S.L. Benfica