//Int. Helvetia U16 Cup – Interview with Florian Kohfeldt

Florian Kohfeldt is currently the coach of the 1st team of SV Werder Bremen. In former times he was a participant in the INTERNATIONAL HELVETIA U16 CUP as a youth coach. We were allowed to interview him about this unique tournament:

 1st While you were youth coach at SV Werder Bremen, you and your teams took part in the International Helvetia U16 Cup several times. What were the most impressive moments/experiences for you?

The tournament is always organized very professionally. The whole environment, the ambiance, the places, that was very impressive for the young players, but also for us coaches. You also had the opportunity to compare yourself with top international teams. In this age group, that has an enormously high value.

 2nd How important is the tournament for season preparation? What important experiences, which might also help you now, did you gain at our tournament?

The Helvetia U16 Cup was one of the two big tournaments we played with the U16 of Werder in the year and it always took place at a good time in the season preparation. However, in youth football, it is much more important not to think in terms of season goals, but in terms of the individual development of each player. It is very important to play against international teams.

 3rd How important is it that a team can compete internationally and is this tournament helpful for the development of the players’ play and character?

Definitely. Character-wise, such a tournament is always important for a team, but also enormously interesting for testing different playing styles and observing how other nations play. But also the personal development of the individual players should not be ignored. The guys are far away from home, with the team. These are unique experiences at that age.

 4th How will the inclusive environment (U16 Team & Special Needs Team at the same tournament) positively influence player development?

Coming together with the handicap teams makes the tournament something special. There, the players gather a lot of positive experiences away from competitive football, which in turn are good for their personal development.

5th What advice can you give to the participating U16 coaches in Lugano?

It is always difficult for me personally to give advice to other coaches. At the tournament, there are very experienced youth coaches who know exactly what they are doing. I wish everyone a lot of fun and that they can enjoy this great environment.

6th During the tournament from 1 to 4 August, you are in the middle of preparing for the coming Bundesliga season. Or is there a surprise for the Werder players in Lugano?

That’s true, we’re in the middle of our preparations for the season. We’re also playing the first round of the DFB Cup this week. That’s why I won’t be able to come to Lugano, but keep my fingers crossed for everyone.

//Int. Helvetia u16 Cup – Interview mit Florian Kohfeldt

Florian Kohfeldt, Trainer der 1. Mannschaft vom SV Werder Bremen war früher selbst als Trainer beim INTERNATIONAL HELVETIA U16 CUP  zu Gast. Wir durften mit ihm ein Interview bezüglich diesem einzigartigen Turnier führen: 

1.    Als Du noch Jugend Trainer beim SV Werder Bremen warst, hast Du mit deinen Teams mehrfach am International Helvetia U16 Cup teilgenommen. Was waren für Dich die eindrücklichsten Momente / Erlebnisse?
Das Turnier wird immer sehr professionell organisiert. Das komplette Umfeld, das Ambiente, die Plätze, das war für die jungen Spieler, aber auch für uns Trainer, sehr beindruckend. Zudem hatte man die Möglichkeit, sich mit internationalen Top-Mannschaften zu vergleichen. Das hat in dieser Altersklasse einen enorm hohen Stellenwert.

 2.    Wie wichtig ist das Turnier für die Saisonvorbereitung? Welche wichtigen Erfahrungen, die Dir vielleicht auch jetzt weiterhelfen, konntest Du an unserem Turnier sammeln?
Der Helvetia U16 Cup war eines der beiden großen Turniere, die wir mit Werders U16 im Jahr gespielt haben und es hat immer zu einem guten Zeitpunkt in der Saisonvorbereitung stattgefunden. Jedoch ist es im Jugendfußball deutlich wichtiger, nicht in Saisonzielen, sondern an die individuelle Entwicklung jedes einzelnen Spielers zu denken. Da ist es sehr bedeutsam gegen internationale Mannschaften zu spielen.

 3.    Wie wichtig ist es, dass sich ein Team auch international messen kann und ist dieses Turnier dann auch hilfreich für die spielerische und charakterliche Entwicklung der Spieler?
Definitiv. Charakterlich ist so ein Turnier immer wichtig für ein Team, aber auch enorm interessant, um verschiedene Spielstile zu testen und zu beobachten, wie andere Nationen spielen. Aber auch die persönliche Entwicklung der einzelnen Spieler darf man nicht außer Acht lassen. Die Jungs sind weit von Zuhause weg, mit dem Team unterwegs. Das sind einzigartige Erfahrungen in dem Alter.

 4.    Inwiefern beeinflusst der inklusive Rahmen (U16 Team & Special Needs Team am selben Turnier) die Spielerentwicklung positiv?
Das Zusammenkommen mit den Handicap-Mannschaften macht das Turnier zu etwas Besonderem. Da sammeln die Spieler abseits des Leistungsfußballs viele positive Erfahrungen, die wiederum gut für ihre persönliche Entwicklung sind.

5. Welchen Rat kannst Du den teilnehmenden U16 Coaches in Lugano geben?
Es fällt mir persönlich immer schwer, anderen Trainern Ratschläge zu geben. Beim Turnier sind sehr erfahrene Jugendtrainer, die genau wissen was sie tun. Ich wünsche allen sehr viel Spaß und dass sie dieses tolle Umfeld genießen können.

6. Während dem Turnier vom 1.-4. August steckst Du mitten in der Vorbereitung für die kommende Bundesliga-Saison. Oder gibt’s in Lugano eine Überraschung für die Werder Spieler?
Das stimmt, wir sind mitten in der Saisonvorbereitung. Zudem spielen wir in der Woche die erste Runde im DFB-Pokal. Daher werde ich leider nicht nach Lugano kommen können, drücke aber allen die Daumen.